The Sir Hugh Kawharu Foundation has been registered by the Charities Commission (registration number 37075). Donations are eligible for tax deductions.
Hugh Kawharu (L), James Te Hikoi Paora (R)


Nau mai ki tēnei paetukutuku o te Sir Hugh Kawharu Foundation


Masters Scholarship for Innovation in Science - Sarah Davis

Sarah Davis of the University of Auckland has received the Science Scholarship for the 2021 academic year for her master's research thesis in marine ecology, where she is using seabirds as indicators of environmental stress and ecosystem mauri. In her project, Sarah will determine hormonal stress response and metal contamination of three seabird species, oi, tītī, and toanui. USing a mātauranga Māori lens, she hopes to use this knowledge to inform community harvesting and the health of marine ecosystems. The purpose of her research will also be to conduct a project that genuinely weaves together mātauranga Māori and wewstern knowledge systems that benefits Māori communities and further the rights of indigenous knowledge in academic spaces.

Sir Hugh Kawharu Scholarship at the Auckland Museum - Tracy Maniapoto

The Museum Scholarship has been awarded to Tracy Maniapoto.

The $10,000 scholarship, offered annually by the Kawharu Foundation in partnership with Auckland Museum, supports and encourages Māori research and leadership, particularly in the field of cultural heritage. This year’s recipient, Tracy Maniapoto, Ngāti Tūwharetoa, Te Atihaunui-ā-Pāpārangi and Ngāti Kahungunu ki Te Wairoa, is completing her PhD in Māori Studies at Massey University’s Te Pūtahi-a-Toi (School of Māori Knowledge). As a doctoral student, Tracy is exploring the relationships between te reo Māori revitalisation, adult language learners, GLAM sector (galleries, libraries, archives and museums) cultural heritage institutions and Māori social and cultural aspirations. Tracy's research is part of a Marsden project on the contribution that GLAMs are making to the revitalisation of te reo Māori.

Auckland Museum’s Manager Māori Development Nicola Railton says Tracy was selected as the 2020 recipient of the scholarship due to her excellent academic record, leadership potential and her research proposal which strongly aligns with the Museum’s kaupapa. “The Scholarship will enable Tracy to conduct her research alongside Auckland Museum to explore adult second language learners of te reo Māori and their perceptions of the GLAM sector in supporting the revitalisation of te reo Māori,” says Nicola.

Tracy was awarded the certificate at the Museum Medals evening by Kawharu Foundation trustee James Mace. James says the scholarship is a fitting legacy to Sir Hugh’s contributions to the Museum. “Tracy is a deserving recipient and the Foundation is very pleased to partner with the Museum to support a scholar doing such important work,” he says.

Tracy says she would like to extend a heartfelt thanks and gratitude to the Sir Hugh Kawharu Foundation. “It is a privilege to have been chosen. I am looking forward to working with the team and collections at Tāmaki Paenga Hira Auckland War Memorial Museum. What excites me most about this research journey  is listening to the kōrero our taonga want to share,” she says.   


The Sir Hugh Kawharu Scholarship for Innovation in Science

The Sir Hugh Kawharu Scholarship for Innovation in Science is a $10,000 scholarship for Māori students engaged in masters level study in the sciences. The Scholarship is provided by the Foundation and administered by the Royal Society of New Zealand Te Apārangi.

More information

The Sir Hugh Kawharu Scholarship at the Auckland Museum

The Scholarship comprises a grant of $10,000 and is offered by the Foundation in partnership with the Auckland Museum.  The Museum administers the scholarship.

The Sir Hugh Kawharu Award for Studies in Business

The Sir Hugh Kawharu Foundation in association with the University of Auckland Business School has established an award to support emerging, entrepreneurial and professional Māori who wish to complete post graduate study in Māori business. The award is administered through the University of Auckland.

More information